

Friendly City Sister Cities Committee

Name	Representative	Term Expires	Appointed By
Bo Perkinson, Chair	Council		Mayor
Harley Knowles, Vice Chair	Tennessee Wesleyan	07/17/2021	TWU President
Becky Simpson, Treasurer	Local Schools	07/17/2023	Mayor
Erica Peden, Secretary	Citizen of Athens	07/17/2021	Mayor
C. Seth Sumner	City Manager		
Kathy Price	McMinn County EDA	07/17/2021	MCEDA President
Victoria White	Industry	07/17/2023	Appointed by Board
Austin Fesmire	Representative of Athens Parks Foundation		Non-Voting Member

Purpose:

To promote and develop educational, cultural, and economic opportunities among the participating communities.

The program unites community and volunteer resources for the joint advantage of providing citizens with an active role in public diplomacy to further international cooperation and understanding.

Board Meetings:

The Board of Directors shall meet no less than on an annual basis. Notice of each meeting shall be provided to all members in good standing at least one week prior to the meeting. A quorum consists of a majority of the Directors. Special meetings of the Board of Directors may be called by the Chair or by the request of any two Directors with meeting notice to all Directors and Members.

Composition of Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors of the organization shall consist of 1) a citizen of the City of Athens, Tennessee appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the Council; 2) a representative of McMinn County Economic Development Authority ("MCEDA") appointed by the MCEDA President with confirmation by the MCEDA Executive Board; 3) a representative of Tennessee Wesleyan University appointed by the TWU President; 4) a representative of local schools appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the Council; 5) a member of the Athens City Council appointed by the Mayor; 6) the City Manager for the City of Athens; and 7) an at-large industry representative appointed by the other members of the Board of Directors.

Terms:

The terms of the Directors shall be staggered to provide continuity and experience for the organization. The initial Directors appointed pursuant to numbers 1-3 in Paragraph 2 above shall serve an initial term of three (3) years, with the positions thereafter appointed for a three (3) year term. The initial Directors appointed pursuant to numbers 4 and 7 shall serve an initial term of two (2) years, and thereafter the Directors appointed for these positions shall serve three (3) year terms. The City Council member serving as Director pursuant to number 5 in Paragraph 2 above shall serve until replaced by the Mayor. The then serving City Manager shall serve while employed as City Manager. No person named as a Director shall serve more than four (4) terms, with the exception of the Council member and the City Manager.